Role Model

Photo by: Emre Keshavar

You know when you’re on the right path when you find someone whom to aspire to write like and you come across their page. You’re instantly captivated by their writing and binge read as many of their posts as possible.

This was what I felt when I came across another writer’s page. I got to know about this writer’s page after he had dropped a comment on my humble page.

So what captivated me? Really good flow for words that keeps readers engaged and thus keeps you reading on. Anddd…Good use of humour which is placed strategically, making reading fun and giving one a good laugh.  I was elated as went through the blog and read as much as I could.

Looking through the profile, I saw that the writer has had many years of experience with established and well-known organisations. Organisations that I wished I could have work for when I was in PR (I think the boat to that part of my career has sailed)

I think I have found a writer figure who closely fits who I aspire to be. Yes, I know, I sound like I am starstruck. Maybe I am 🙂 I love looking for other writers and seeing how they write as inspiration. This is one way I keep myself motivated and going (as I am a solopreneur).

Being a role model is the most powerful form of education
-John Wooden
Photo by: Ron Lach

Going through the writer’s page also made me think of what types of writing I would like to do moving forward. I usually get stuck when I am faced with the “niche” question. I get it, I know it helps people gauge what types of writing one does. But, I find that I am able to write for various non-technical fields. And I love lifestyle writing. I think I do best with that. I have also written for IT, logistics, insurance, beauty and education fields. I know what I don’t favour writing- research papers. I don’t favour writing for things that have a rigid writing style and which require only a certain format.

 I write best when it comes from within. I write best when I am sharing my experiences, my likes and dislikes and on topics that are close to me.

 I used to write a diary when I was in school. I used to write almost every day after school, but I can’t recall why I stopped. I wish I continued. I’m too afraid to write one in the event someone reads it as I know when I write diaries I write each and every feeling and event.

I write from an anecdotal perspective, or some days I ramble about what I felt went wrong. So yes, I am glad to come across this writer’s page and glad to know that there is someone who writes what’s on their mind and is not tied to a certain niche at all times. 

The distance between your dreamd and reality is called ACTION
Photo by: Anete Lusina

Do you have someone whom you want to model in the field you work in? Or have you been told that you are a role model for someone?

By RJ

Does writing and translating take up more work than you want? Then I’m the one, whom you can count on, to make your work dance as one. The writer at work, that I am, here to assist you to transform words from none to a tonne.

1 comment

  1. Oh yeah, research-based writing is a meh thing for me too. Business pieces, finance, or even politics aren’t my cup of tea, even though I’ve had to do it for work. Given the choice, I’d love to be able to fully focus on fiction. Anyway, what a great post, and thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started